Can’t You Tell I’m a Pseudo-Hippie?

I went to see Rebelution and Umphrey’s Mcgee last night.

Theatre at Westbury...rotating stage=sex.

The crowd was exactly what I expected – minus the creepy fat old Italian men who set up a nitrous balloon stand right next to my car. It reminded me of college, of my friends and the good music that was a consistent catalyst to fun, singing, dancing, raging…all around good times.

After Rebelution was done I stepped out for a cigarette. (I don’t judge you, so don’t judge me ;p ) On my way back in my friend and I encountered this dude…he looked like this chick minus the arm warmers?:

He was a your typical Long Island guy. My friend and I are just your averagely dressed people. Anyway this dude strolls up to us and loudly aka yelling-ly states, “What the f*#@ is with all these hippies. They hear this music and think oh lets go well – ya know – know what all these hippies are just loser –  f*#@!n loser tool bags.”

I tried to tell him that he was actually the tool bag – but he defintely didn’t hear me. He seemed to be one of those arrogant dudes who would have gone at war with me if he did. Guidos hate me, it’s a fact.

Urban dictionary’s definition of tool bag: “Someone who thinks of themselves as a higher and more important being.” —> Interesting, Mr. Guido – seems you’ve found yourself in a predicament – judging sects of people and believing you are above the rest actually makes you a tool bag,  not that we couldn’t tell from the v-neck or the hat.

Anyway – this post is just to thank “hippies” for being hippies. Thanks for being my friends, introducing me to awesome music, making me (Dad), oozing optimism and open-mindedness, introducing me to the beauty of nature,  not judging based on appearance or smell and for throwing some of the sickest parties I have ever been to.

And now watch this video of an old/great friend of mine and pee your pants. I like to call it An Ode to Long Island Mothers.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Fan me on Facebook, biznatches.

Leave a comment